**** yeah.

So I know it’s only Wednesday but I am already excited for the weekend.. Regardless I still have a few days to go, so I suppose I should enjoy now, well.. right now!
 
Well first things first.. Yesterday was officially my first day back (in the gym) in 5 days! It didn’t go as planned but I still felt exhausted after it. People kept staring and my clothes were too tight.. and it was fucking hot.. and I was only getting hotter lol.. So I ended up just doing 3 or 4 shoulder exercises. Went as heavy as I could though.. So that is always a plus. I do want to mention to  jlgentry that I did a mile in just under 14 minutes (granted the first 2 minutes I walked).. but I started getting bad cramps .85 of a mile in lol.. At that point I knew I wasn’t going to handle going for much longer.. but a mile was SO CLOSE!! So I kept going.. Had too ..Pain is temporary –> failure is forever –> failure only occurs when you give up  = Don’t give up.… Right?
 
..any who.. I finished and walked on an incline for the remainder of the time. BUT I DID IT!! haha.. Yeah I could of probably kept going but I was trying to focus on anything but these damn cramps. My right calf started first, which I could handle.. but the stomach cramps are the worst.
 
Besides the gym, I have been doing really good with my eating. However like I mentioned in an earlier post that I am allowing myself whatever I want. I know the consequence.. and if I want it that badly, ill deal with it later. But for right now… it is working PERFECTLY! I am even starting to see my top two abs again (FUCKYEAHWHATUP!) and again, haven’t been to the gym in a week :) So… with that being said I had 2 chocolate chip cookies last night. Lmfao. I was only going to have one but my mom randomly barged in my room and brought 3 more in for dude and I.. (awkward).. but I ate another one but left one (yes.. you read that right.. I LEFT A FUCKING COOKIE UNEATEN! Unfuckingreal. lol). I didn’t really think twice like I normally would. I remember years ago when I was working at  X Sport Fitness.. My mom had made cookies and I ate one.. or two probably.. okay 3 or 4 knowing me.. and immediately I went to the gym to burn it off. Fuck that. Never again do I want to be like that. Talk about hating yourself and I was fucking ruthless.
 
So I wanted to find a healthy PB cookie recipe.. and while I’ve been excited about the weekend and getting back into cooking and baking and shit, I saw on CCK’s blog a recipe for skinny vanilla cupcakes. They looked so cute unfrosted.. see:
 
 
Skinny Vanilla Cupcakes

(makes 9-10 cupcakes)

Or click if you’d prefer: Chocolate Cupcakes.

  • 1 cup spelt flour, or white flour, or Arrowhead Mills gf mix (145g)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp ener g powder (or 1 flax or chia egg)
  • 4 tbsp xylitol or sugar (54g)
  • 2 Nunatural stevia packets (or 2 extra tbsp sugar)
  • 1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup plain or vanilla yogurt of choice (Silk or SoDelicious both work) (230g)
  • 1/4 cup milk of choice (subtract 2 tbsp if using the flax or chia egg) (60g)
  • 3 tbsp coconut or veg oil (can omit, but the cupcakes will be a bit gummy) (36g)

Preheat oven to 350 F, and grease muffin tins. Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl, and mix very well. In a separate bowl, combine all wet ingredients and stir. Pour wet into dry, and mix until just combined (don’t overmix). Cook 18-20 minutes, then let sit at least 10 before removing from muffin tins.

Okayyyy so they still look fanfuckingtastic.. but what about with Reese’s Frosting from CCK?
 
Reese’s Pieces Frosting
 

(Yields almost 1/2 cup)

  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (or other nut butter)
  • 4-8 tsp pure maple syrup (click for a sugar-free alternative)
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 4 tsp milk of choice (or more for thinner frosting)
  • 3/4 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • optional: handful of chocolate chips (the “pieces”)

Blend everything (including chips, if using) in a small food processor or Magic Bullet. If you have a bigger processor, it might be best to double the recipe so everything blends more smoothly. Best to store uneaten frosting covered in the fridge.

Or what about making my own cool whip.. Hey have I ever mentioned this before? Leave a open can of full fat coconut milk in the refrigerator overnight.. scoop the clear liquid off the top.. add vanilla.. coconut shreds (if you wish) and stevia..blend.. and there you have whipped cream!!!
 
Now do you see why I am so excited?
 
Oh.. another reason I am excited.. I AM NOW A SPONSORED ATHLETE FOR A NUTRITION COMPANY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Hell yeah.  Will go into further detail a bit later..
 
Life is going and I’m going with it..with a huge (mother) fucking smile on my face.
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “**** yeah.

  1. Congratulations for being sponsored! That’s so exciting! :D

  2. jlgentry says:

    Marissa, first let me say that you are a warrior. You know that you can do more than you think and you push yourself to do it. Dig deep, Marissa. You have it.

    Second, the stomach cramp sounds like what I call a stitch. A sharp pain right around the bottom of the ribcage. There is a simple way to avoid it. The technique is called belly breathing. If you are already doing this, then there is something else going on. If you aren’t , then here’s how it works.

    If you can stand up right now. Shoulders back and relaxed. Breath in through your nose normally. You chest expands and contracts, right? Now, keep breathing through your nose and push your belly out while you inhale. When you do that your chest stays about the same and your “belly” expands. Feels weird, doesn’t it. But, every distance/endurance athlete (runner, cyclist, swimmer, etc.) breaths this way. What you are doing is using a large muscle group of your stomach to expand and contract, pulling the air in and pushing it out. It saves your diaphragm muscles from doing the inhale/exhale work. When those smaller muscles have to breath in rapid succession they will cramp up. Think of your belly as a piston pushing your lungs closed and then letting them expand. What you’ll notice after you get used to the feeling is that your breathing is much easier and less taxing.

    I hope that helps. I also recommend that you find a rhythm to your breathing that keeps it easy for you. Most people breath in for two or three steps and then out for two or three steps. I used to do 2 steps per breath, but now, since I’ve gone minimalist, I do three steps.

    To give you a sense of how special your breathing is, we are the only mammal that can take multiple steps on a single breath. If you watch a cheetah run the compression and stretch during its run is what moves the air in and out of its lungs. Horses, dogs, cats, all of them are the same. We are very special runners and that breathing ability is just one of the many biological markers that make us that way.

    That said, it still hurts when you starting. When the leg cramps come, slow your pace, but don’t stop running. Take shorter strides and try different landings (you’ll find a forefoot is more comfortable). Keep your posture straight and don’t tense up with the pain, just dive into it and watch it disappear.

    You are a warrior! I am proud of you!

    jlg

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers

