Day 19 Obesity: The New Smoking!

I need to start writing down my thoughts more often because either A. I’m hilarious or B. I actually have a valid point..

Which moves me onto reading my sticky note on my iphone… should I write it verbatim? lol..  k.

Do it matters how someone does ubealthy foods heat diesel but want to cure cancer

lol.

And that explains a conversation I had with a co worker. I was driving him somewhere and a commerical came on about sugary drinks. When they all ordered sugar and the dude was like wtf yo and theyre like I’m not gonna eat the sugar, I’m going to drink it.. lol. I personally love it and actually makes SENSE PEOPLE AND DON’T.. how should I say it? SUGARCOAT IT??

haha.. anywho.. he was “pissed” because that money should be going towards curing cancer (which I actually believe it has been cured, and I actually think the government is no bueno lol), but it didn’t get me thinking till later that night.

I always get stopped on my way home on route 83 and there is a Culvers (FLAVOR OF THE DAY OMG!), Papa Johns (JUST SO HAPPENS TO BE MY FAVE) and a Mcdonalds all on the same intersection. So while I was sitting in the precense of all these fast food places I asked myself a qeustion (I actually talk to myself alot), and it was along the lines of:

  • Why does it matter what kind of illness or disease a person dies from?
  • Why does cancer make heart diease, stoke, or diabetes any different?
  • Is it because people who die from obesity, MAKE themselves sick?

Obesity: ‘Like the new smoking’

Two-thirds of Americans are overweight or obese and, according to a growing body of evidence, at greater risk of getting, and dying of, cancer. ‘Obesity is almost like the new smoking,’ says one expert.

The more I ask myself these questions, the more I think I’m asking myself how the world all began. It’s almost hopeless. The people who want change will seek it, the people who want free will and a stubborn attitude can eat their lives away.. literally.

Regardless, just because people are taxing sugary drinks doesn’t mean they are disappearing.. WHICH THEY SHOULD!!!!  we want to bitch about fat people yet provide the stuff that is causing the problem.  We are trying to save lives by curing cancer and healing the sick, when WHERE WE LIVE IS A REASON WHY SOME PEOPLE ARE SICK IN THE FIRST PLACE! We are providing the processed foods, the tobacco ext. We are KNOWINGLY ALLOWING people to get sick. There is PROOF these fast foods do damage, that these cigarettes take years off your life, but we ignore this why?  We live in a world where there is a Mcdonalds on every damn corner, where it’s faster to get a meal “made” then it is to go pee in the morning. I mean COME ON!

If you want to bitch about something make sure somewhere down the road you won’t walk into a huge contradiction.

:/ Honestly to each their own. From here on out, If you want to live unhealthy and ruin the only thing that is pure in this world go ahead. Be what you hate in this world. It’s the american thing to do.

** HOLY SHIT!**

It’s ( 1:09am), Still haven’t published this blog, but I’m glad I didn’t. I just posted a status about what I was talking about (obesity vs smoking) and it got so many people heated..People really got weird when I compared smoking to eating like shit.. The convo got to where they said how since smoking affects others around you that its worse then eating like shit.

I am going to paste some comments people posted:

LOL @ the people who look down on smokers, and eat like shit #doingthesameharmpeople!
and 73 comments later.. here are some certain clips..
“how is eating like shit killing, and or putting possible cancer in your lungs? Dieting or changing your eating habits can reverse eating like shit, once cancer shows up you’re kinda screwed.
I think the harm is on two different levels…..”
“didn’t read everything everyone else said.. but while I can see your logic behind this post.. food is a necessity to life. Smoking is not. While eating shit food isnt as good as eating “healthy” food.. it still can sustain life. Now i didnt do research on this.. but no food comes to mind that directly leads to cancer to the person consuming it.. nor the person sitting next to the person consuming it. so yeah.. this isnt comparing apples to apples here.

about an hour ago · Like · 
Like what the fuck.. I don’t understand how we got from comparing obesity and smoking, turned into smoking is so much worse because it effects more then just the user. IT DOESN’T MATTER! Just because it happens to kill others, doesn’t make it any less harmful to its user.

(1:42am) And now that I am STILL having a conversation regarding smoking and eating unhealthy, It is now a known fact that obesity will kill you faster then smoking will.. yeah. Unbelievable.

ARE WE GOING TO FINALLY UNDERSTAND NOW?

This isn’t a low carb diet, or a no food fad, this is a lifestyle that we selfishlessly LOST somewhere. We are addicted to the sugar, to the convienece, to a lazy lifestyle!

  • But just for the record, just like some smokers will always smoke, some people will just always eat unhealthy. 😦

Why do we think we can just sweep things under neath the rug and pretend they don’t exist?

Oh lifes questions, haha ❤

Back to FRIDAY- Today has been so busy I have been all over the place… I actually think I am going to finish this blog tomorrow, because I cannot keep my eyes open and today was actually a pretty good day..

Ate at 6pm LOL in my car. here.. look.

Sorry that it’s upside down.

Told you I was super busy.. I also ate a Lara bar, this one was cashew cookie. I thought this one was gonna be good because I love cashews but um…… it tasted like a hotdog……weird? tell me about it……..

Decided not to go to the gym today.. I didn’t wanna stress out and I got home at 8pm and Im coming up with excuses now. I am doing legs tomorrow which I am SUPER excited about, then arms on sunday. Both with 30-35 min cardio each day.

So at 8pm I ate some “meatloaf” and cauliflower mashed potatoes:

Then I STARTED BLOGGING and bitching at dumb ass people on my Facebook, I am still not in bed.. I guess I can start my Day 20 blog too haha..

Goodnight ❤

Tomorrow’s post will be better, its SATURDAY!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Day 19 Obesity: The New Smoking!

  1. sweetlyvegan says:

    great post Mar, as usual. You always say something to stir up the pot and your perspective is spot on. I agree smoking is just like obesity, and that both will kill you. Those who disagree are probably lazy f*cks, eating like shit, don’t workout, and don’t want to admit that they are “fueling” their body with garbage (as the idiot says its food it will keep you going blah blah blah) He probably ate McDonalds for breakfast. Most people only change when they HAVE TO. But for those that change their life out of just wanting to be the healthiest person they can be – that is a beautiful thing. I like to surround myself with people that have drive and determination to take care of their bodies – its nice to have health buddies – to learn from one another and encourage each other [and everyone else] to do well. I love all your posts on healthy eating, working out, and your recipes! Keep up the good work babe!!! You rock 🙂 oh and btw, have u tried insanity? I’m thinking about getting the DVD’s for my post partum workouts! I am determined to have my body back but I want it better than before pregnancy. xoxox

  2. I know you have your cauliflower crusted pizza and mashed potatoes .. but there’s a recipe on this site for cauliflower “fried rice” .. I thought you may be interested in it 🙂
    http://www.damyhealth.com/2011/03/the-secret-life-of-cauliflower/

Leave a Reply

