Fuck. It’s finally friday.

Life has been throwing quite a few curve balls at me lately.
..and usually I am one to throw in the towel, call it quits, say I don’t give a fuck, anything but actually roll with the punches.  You know, sit on the pity pot, cry myself to sleep while I ask “why me?”
Lol. “why me?” How ignorant.
Lets take something positive out of a semi bad situation.. I currently have a pending misdemeanor for a speeding ticket I got a few weeks ago. Granted this is going to cost me a chunk of change (lawyer, court fines ext), it has slowly (obviously) given me some patience, that I lack ever so badly. I cruise on the highway going 70 (usually a MINIMUM of 80 mph for this lead foot), sometimes even getting passed by semis but I can’t risk it. Not only that, what am I in a rush for? Life passes by quickly enough as it is.. I don’t need to hurry things along even faster. I think why I feel so “changed” is because I use to ALWAYS be on a schedule (working, eating, lifting), and there simply wasn’t enough hours in the day to please me.
Now, I am taking each little “life’s lessons”, and trying to see the good in all situations. I am such a negative person as it is and clearly it hasn’t been working out for me. I want to love myself, not put myself on a pedestal.
Random thought.. yes I have my little tangents.

The Food Log..

9am 2 slices of Ezekiel Bread w/Jiffy (not natural) <-- :(
12pm Ezekiel Pasta with lean Ground Turkey and natural sauce (only has 6 ingredients).
3pm Chicken and Veggies.
6pm (Pre Work Out)* 1/2c Greek Yogurt w/ 1/4c Steel Cut Oats (w/ 3 strawberries).
9pm (Post Work Out)* Ezekiel Pasta w/ Organic Butter and Ground Turkey.
11pm and later Casein shake.

*Pre Work Out (explanation) from Askmen.com

Pre-exercise meals should be mainly composed of “slow-burning” complex carbs, such as fruits, vegetables, whole-grain bread, rice, pasta, and cereals. Given that they are your body’s main source of energy, 65% to 70% of the total calories of your pre-workout meal should come from carbs. Complex carbs take longer to convert to glucose, which will keep your blood sugar level consistent and prevent you from having an energy crash in the middle of your workout.In addition, 15% of the total calories of your meal should come from protein. Because fat takes longer to digest, and therefore uses more energy than protein and carbs, it should be kept to a minimum immediately before a workout.Avoid simple sugars, such as candy, in the hour before your workout. They can send your blood sugar level shooting down, leading to a severe drop in energy.Another factor in deciding what to eat is the amount of time between your meal and your workout. A big meal of 1,000 to 1,500 calories takes three to four hours to digest and convert into energy, whereas a smaller meal of about 600 calories will take two to three hours. A small snack under 300 calories will only take about an hour.

 
Examples: Oatmeal, Bananas, Trail Mix, Whole Wheat Pasta.

The Work Out

Hamstring and Glute day, yay!
Starting off with Deadlifts (compound exercises should be knocked out first. These are the ones that tax your body the most aka take most energy.. deplete glycogen stores quickly.. This is also another reason why I don’t do much, if any, cardio on leg days).
I usually do 5 sets, 12,12,10,8,8 (reps).
50lbs + bar for 2 sets of 12 reps (or till failure.. if you can knock out another rep GO FOR IT!)
add 20lbs
70lbs for 1 set of 10 reps.
add 10lbs
80lbs for 2 sets of 8 reps.
Not supersetting this with anything.
Will however do 3 sets of calf raises afterwards before I hit lunges.
Calf Raises
3 sets of 45lb (10-12 reps).

LUNGES!!!!

5 Sets of 20 reps (WEIGHTED!!)
I think I might just stick with 20 lb Dumbbells=

100 (40lb) total lunges 🙂
POSSIBLY superset with 30 sec wall sits.

Finish with a lighter Good Morning (kind of like an awkward stiff legged deadlift).
supersetted with planks.
Would like to also complete at LEAST 30 Minutes of light (but elevated- on an incline) cardio on the treadmill.
Sauna if I’m lucky?
 
Post Work Out Meal (explanation) by Askmen.com
As a general rule of thumb, you’ll want to consume about 0.8 grams of carbohydrate per 2.2 pounds of body weight within 30 to 60 minutes after your workout. Any longer and you may miss your “window of opportunity” (the time period in which your muscles will benefit most from nutrition). You’ll also want to take in about one-third or one-half that ratio in protein or about 0.2 to 0.4 grams per 2.2 pounds of body weight.However, it’s not just the amount of these nutrients that’s important — it’s a little bit more complicated than that — which is why AM has decided to rank its top 10 post-workout foods for you to keep handy after you hit the gym.
 
Examples: Hummus on a whole-grain pita. Toasted whole wheat bagel with almond butter. Dried fruits and nuts. Tuna and whole-wheat crackers. Egg white and spinach omelet
Basically this is what I follow. I never knew how important carbs were to someones diet/body. It is almost CRUCIAL. What happens when you go low carb for awhile (or forever lol).. your body begins to think that its starving. “However, if there is very little carbohydrate in the diet, the liver converts fat into fatty acids and ketone bodies. The ketone bodies pass into the brain and replace glucose as an energy source. An elevated level of ketone bodies in the blood, a state known as ketosis, leads to a reduction in the frequency of epileptic seizures.” – Wikipedia.
I know people have a misconception about carbohydrates, but we all need to understand that we can EAT carbohydrates, we just have to eat the right ones (and technically at the right time). Don’t be scared of food. Eat to live not live to eat. Try and stay away from heavily processed carbs (have TONS of hidden sugars) and switch to Whole Wheat. Its a SIMPLE change that has MANY benefits, and I promise the taste isn’t even that noticeable!! ….. ok well if it is, get use to it lol.
This weekend I will be sure to list the certain food products I have known to help in a healthy (organic/whole) lifestyle. Instagram has been a HUGE help in aiding my addiction to sugar and living a happy healthy normal life. I’m all for trying new things now!!!!
So follow me btw..

@Maristheshit

 

Recipe of the day:

Strawberry Frosting Shots
(or strawberry mousse)
  • 1 can full-fat coconut milk (Perhaps you can sub 1 cup soaked, drained cashews or macadamia nuts if allergic to coconut? If anyone tries, please report back!)
  • 2-5 strawberries (more will yield a thinner mousse)
  • 1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • sweetener to taste (stevia or powdered sugar)
  • tiny pinch salt (trust me)
Open the coconut milk, and if it isn’t yet as thick as in the above photo, leave the can (or transfer to a bowl) uncovered in the fridge overnight. (Don’t shake the can before opening.) It should get very, very thick. (If it doesn’t, you’ve gotten a bad can that won’t work for the recipe. I highly recommend Thai Kitchen Organic.) Once thick, transfer just the thick part to a bowl (leave out the watery bit at the bottom of the can, for a thicker mousse) and blend with all other ingredients. Stored uncovered in the fridge, the mixture gets even thicker.
 

 

I have been meaning to make “cool whip” out of coconut milk. I recently bought 2 cans and haven’t even touched them. I think it would be wonderful on pancakes on Saturday or Sunday morning. Mmmm.. Chocolatecoveredkatie.com <== LOVELOVELOVE!
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Fuck. It’s finally friday.

  1. jlgentry says:

    Your post made me think of a question I intended to ask you before your competition. I noticed some veggies in the meals you posted, but it didn’t have the amount I would have expected. I have found vegan meals (I am not vegan, but I do meals that are all vegetable and fruit) to really help me in recovery after long runs and just improve my level of energy. I make sure I use a good mix of items, some seasonings and enough legume to get the protein I need. I love fish and some meat, so I’ll never be pure vegan, but It is my counter to junk food. Plus, you can eat massive quantities and it is OK!

    I can’t post without something about running! Running is great for your butt. The glutes are only used in running, not walking (or specific exercises that target them).

    Patience – and dig deep.

    jlg

  2. fitnessgall says:

    “Life passes by quickly enough as it is.. I don’t need to hurry things along even faster.”

    This is so true, i’m always in a rush as well, go go go – we need to slow down and look around more 🙂

    And i’m a total carblover ❤

Leave a Reply

