All over the place..

If your client has to tell you to push them harder, as a trainer, you’re doing it wrong. Sick and tired of seeing people getting certified because its (obviously) the “cool” thing to do. If you’re not going to put your heart and soul into this “career”, save your clients time and reevaluate your life for a second. I deal with real life issues.. one being their lifestyle. No one spends thousands of dollars for a human rep counter nor should you be paid for being one.

That was my Facebook post this afternoon, after a situation at work. Here, as I pathetically attempt to answer a required online question for class, explains a little about where I see myself doing later down the road..

I also plan on building a business in regards to physical fitness (well maybe not). Not to keep mentioning the fact, but being a personal trainer for as long as I have been has really opened my eyes to how seriously mental and emotional lifestyle changes can be. It goes so much further than just losing weight, getting “big” ext , there is HUGE underlying issues in more than 50% of the people that walk thru those gym doors.

Now I have had a past, since at least from what I clearly remember started in 8th grade, full of body image issues. I have since starting blogging and having a huge (OK don’t think huge.. lets just say, decent) following base. I have stayed in good contact with past clients, and have truly taken the time out to help these people. I also have 1 client who lives in California (from one of my accounts), that has paid me to email, text back and forth, a training and nutrition regimen to compete in national bikini competitions. So, what I am saying is, I want to  start something by word of mouth. Have my clients be my “advertising”. I mean knowing people in the industry is going to be helpful, but again, by word of mouth. You know someone that knows somebody (Or if all else fails, or if I really have to give an “idea”, I’d start advertising or working with bridal stores, marketing boot camps for brides to be).

I may be completely not following the script, or even answering the question but I want to be everything in one. I see the psychological aspect of is. I know that coaching is staying in the future going forward, but I also want to be the one they go to to talk about the past (so i m p o r t a n t). Just today at work, a trainer called me saying he accidentally slept in and missed 3 appointments. I hung up and immediately went to the trainer table. Now mind you, here I am just the personal trainer counselor (aka sales even though I am currently still certified). However I went to check the computer and a younger girl, mid 20’s, walked over to the table. I asked her if she had a training appointment and indeed, with the missing  trainer. I explained the situation and asked her if she would like for me to train her or felt more comfortable rescheduling. She didn’t mind either so I encouraged taking me up on the offer (knowing I would of pushed her harder than she would of herself). She obliged and I asked for her workout journal that clients are given at time of commitment. I noticed no measurements have been taken recently, if at all and after 4 months of training you would think it would have been done. I walk her over to the table after explaining how important measuring progress was 😉 I sat her down and just began talking. How long she was training a week with a trainer (3), to if she’s noticing progress (insert how awesome this is, its like practice!). Just questions that made her open up to which she expressed her love for swimming but too embarrassed to get in the pool. The more questions I asked and let her open up, the more she did to which she said (verbatim) “I think I need a therapist”.It was awesome.  THAT’S what I want. I want to be that persons therapist, coach, nutritionist, personal trainer. All of it, all in one.

So I guess my point is, I don’t give the amount of revenue, well enough to pay the bills (but again insert idea about bridal stores if thats what this question is asking) but working minimum wage (and living with the best mom ever FREE RENT) has been working just fine. So if any of this makes sense (and as long as I pass my tests and turn in homework), I think  that since I wrote this much I should get an A (for effort of course).

You like that shit? Luckily, he is an awesome teacher and that little part I added at the end will at least make someone laugh 🙂 Going to bed though. Pretty exhausted after today. Have been on point though. Sushi dinner with the boyfriend post second cardio session. That’s right! Doing 2 a days lately. It’s so easy because I am ALREADY AT THE GYM! I have NO excuses lol. Eating has been key too. Did just splurge on a little carbs but not one fuck was given.

 

😉

Tagged

6 thoughts on “All over the place..

  1. marisa.skylar@gmail.com says:

    Hi Marissa,

    I love what you do, how you do it, how you go about it, how serious you take your goals and the goals of others etc.. Enough blowing smoke up your ass.. 😉

    Please send me the details if I want you to work out a training program + eating plan for me.. My goal? I am getting married on the 3rd of August and want to look toned and a little more sculpted all over!

    I have not been to the gym in 2weeks but in general I go 5-6 times a week.. Monday, Wednesday and Friday I do circuit weight training and Tuesdays + Thursday I do yoga.. Sometimes yoga on a Saturday as well.

    Send me the details so I can look at my budget and see if I can afford you 😉

    Regards,
    Marisa
    (South Africa)
    Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

    • Marissa says:

      HAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHA. this literally made me laugh. I think I read it while I was half asleep but still, no joke, laughed out loud.
      Probably because we have the same name and we are both, apparently, fucking hilarious. Anyways congrats on your wedding.. I have some questions first to kind of see what you have been doing (or plan on doing) and how our nutrition is at the moment. Email me (mchartier22@gmail.com), I’d love to chat with you August is almost here!

  2. jlgentry says:

    I love the idea of you as a personal trainer and urge you to follow that muse. You’re paying some dues right now. Learning that sales is about making personal contact, not about pushing product is a key first step. You already have the empathy to understand the anguish that many people have about their bodies or working out. You’ve been there. Most don’t want to be muscle heads, they just want to be happy in their shells. I was reading an article yesterday and it mentioned Eric Clapton lists two reasons for his success – practice and discipline. Even at this point in his career he is still working on his technique and his understanding of the guitar. We always need coaches regardless of how much we’ve accomplished. The coaching need changes over time but the need is still there. The physical and mental are meshed in a feedback loop where one impacts the other. You are heading down the right path.

    • Marissa says:

      Yea I have come with terms that my job here is not “safe” without the selling part, but when it all comes down to it I dont care. There will always be another job paying minimum wage who doesnt care about their customers. I am just taking it one day at a time till I can pursue a career in which people are truly taken care of. I also couldnt agree more about the practice and discipline. I am going to have to google that one. Thanks for the lovely comment as always, hope all is well xo

    • Marissa says:

      Reading my old comments and needed this today!

Leave a Reply

