Being mentally strong..

is just as important, if not more, than being physically strong. Or, its at least, its beginning stepping stone…

photo 1 copy

I am a few days out from a few girls and I’s challenge of a 4 week no cheat. Yes, I’ve done it before but I chose to do it again. This time, I understand how even the slightest mention of something satisfyingly saturated, could immediately be followed with singles to the brain that its craving something crazy! I actually think that’s a fact. That seeing something could stimulate the mind to want/ or desire it. Which clearly makes sense. This month though, was tough. I did have a few oreos last night (I don’t know what got into me! they were even in the house for 3 days before I CAVED!!!!), but that was the extent of it. I want to go just another day longer to make up for it. I feel like I cheated. Maybe I’ll do it again one day. However, I have learned my lesson.

Everything in moderation.

I did have a quite an easy time “adapting”.. I kept on making those muffins I posted earlier. All sorts of flavors. This time, I “frosted” one. I found cinnamon cream cheese from laughing cow and KNEW I had to put them together. I should have played with the frosting a bit more, or at least adding another LC wedge. Even so, a few co workers of mine loved them. Hopefully lol. But I enjoyed them. So it was nice being able to eat something that didn’t consist of chicken.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip with Cinnamon Laughing Cow Cream Cheese and a Greek Yogurt "Frosting". Thinking about adding raisins instead of chocolate chips.. Or... maybe both ;)

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip with Cinnamon Laughing Cow Cream Cheese and a Greek Yogurt “Frosting”. Thinking about adding raisins instead of chocolate chips.. Or… maybe both 😉

My shopping cart for the week. You see the laughing cow over there to the upper right. Clearly a bunch of essentials like chicken greek yogurt unsweetened apple sauce bananas apples eggs ext. The flavored yogurt however, is when I really am craving something sweet. I def always look at the back of the labels and compare how many calories/sugars/protein they have. For being flavored, light and fit brand is a great choice at only 80 calories and 1/2 of the grams of sugar per any other flavored GY out there.

My shopping cart for the week. You see the laughing cow over there to the upper right. Clearly a bunch of essentials like chicken greek yogurt unsweetened apple sauce bananas apples eggs ext. The flavored yogurt however, is when I really am craving something sweet. I def always look at the back of the labels and compare how many calories/sugars/protein they have. For being flavored, light and fit brand is a great choice at only 80 calories and 1/2 of the grams of sugar per any other flavored GY out there.

Ideas to curb those cravings:

Another way to curb cravings, QUEST BARS! Please, whoever is reading this. Please do yourself a favor and invest in these bad boys. They are extremely guilt free with every bite feeling like youre cheating on your diet. I have recently starting baking them and they are A M A Z I N G! Bake at 400 dedgrees for about 7-8 minutes, flipping half way through!

QUEST BARS! Please, whoever is reading this. Please do yourself a favor and invest in these bad boys. They are extremely guilt free with every bite feeling like youre cheating on your diet. I have recently starting baking them and they are A M A Z I N G! Bake at 400 dedgrees for about 7-8 minutes, flipping half way through!

Hmmm.. Yet ANOTHER quest bar. Imagine that.. This one is the Apple Pie. I baked it and..... my lanta it was even better than the Brownie, and that is by far my favorite far hands down.. SO YOU KNOW ITS GOOD! Haha.. and would you look at that.. More cinnamon cream cheese from the Laughing Cow. Lol #addicted.

Hmmm.. Yet ANOTHER quest bar. Imagine that.. This one is the Apple Pie. I baked it and….. my lanta it was even better than the Brownie, and that is by far my favorite far hands down.. SO YOU KNOW ITS GOOD! Haha.. and would you look at that.. More cinnamon cream cheese from the Laughing Cow. Lol #addicted.

I made these twice now. They are sweet potato protein pancakes. Yep. 1/4c whole wheat flour (can use any one if trying to go gluten free), 1/4-1/2 sweet potato, 2TBS brown rice protein powder, 1/4teaspoon both baking powder/soda, 1 egg, and milk (or water) till it hits the consistency of pancake batter. Proceed like normal pancakes. I then layered the pancakes with... YUP! The Laughing Cow CC lol. I had to heat the cheese up just a bit so it could spread more evenly. I added a few more CC to each layer as well. The chocolate I used was 70% cacao, 32 cc per serving.

I made these twice now. They are sweet potato protein pancakes. Yep. 1/4c whole wheat flour (can use any one if trying to go gluten free), 1/4-1/2 sweet potato, 2TBS brown rice protein powder, 1/4teaspoon both baking powder/soda, 1 egg, and milk (or water) till it hits the consistency of pancake batter. Proceed like normal pancakes. I then layered the pancakes with… YUP! The Laughing Cow CC lol. I had to heat the cheese up just a bit so it could spread more evenly. I added a few more CC to each layer as well. The chocolate I used was 70% cacao, 32 cc per serving.

Ooops.. ;P

Ooops.. ;P

 

Back to Road to Ripped progress thus far..

I doubt I will compete in bikini in November but I am going to keep training like I do have a goal in mind lol. I just got done with a work out. I actually worked out this morning at around 730am. The boy was sleeping and I had been up with the puppy going the bathroom since 4am. I could not fall back asleep, so I figured why waste time and creep instagram when I could be doing something productive. I finished 45 minutes of interval training and ended up going to breakfast for my post work out which was nice. I did, just get back from a lifting session though. I took Marley to the doctor and 3 hours later, decided I needed to hit shoulders, or lift s o m e t h i n g. I tried to go heavy but a spot would have been nice. Before I finished 15 minutes of cardio, I took progress pictures.. so hopefully I can get all that put together b speaking of pictures, I need to go to CVS or something to pick up a disposal camera. I want to start photographing clients. I need to track their progress more than just a lousy scale and a huge measuring tape. I want to get serious, especially with everything happening with the “promotion”. I mean, don’t take that the wrong way, I give a shit. Trust me.. but I don’t know. That’s a whole nother story that I don’t think I am ready to write yet. More so, because it hasn’t been taken care of/solved yet, so this is the last place I want to risk my job at/for… haha… Besides, how many people click the link from my instagram account? Though I did delete FB the other day… yes… Don’t miss it though, phew!

Marley always getting spoiled. Turns out she was or is having a false pregnancy. A little scary but nothing as scary as having to leave the room while they cut her nails. :(:(:( My poor baby!

Marley always getting spoiled. Turns out she was or is having a false pregnancy. A little scary but nothing as scary as having to leave the room while they cut her nails. :(:(:( My poor baby!

Sorry, ADD.

Progress. Yes. I feel like, with the meaning behind this post title, that I have become something I have never been before. I am hoping that not only does my body change, but that I do to, inside. I need some light shed upon this dark cloud above my head…

Physically, I stepped my cardio game up. In a few days I will start tracking calorie intake and out (via my Heart Rate Monitor) and see how things play out. I can say though, that I have hit some new highs in regards to weight and I am loving it. I hurt my wrist a bit (got wrist wraps now) trying to go heavy on my vertical press (but was really hurt doing wheel barrels up the stairs and hand stands) and took a few days off from upper body. I couldn’t even do a push up.. However, in the few short days or weeks, I don’t even know when that was, I hit 105lb for 5(ish) reps (more like 3) on the incline. I also managed over 300lbs for about 10 reps on the leg press and 205lb dead lift for 5 reps.

I really like where all this is going.

Justine (my work out partner) trying out the Leg Ext machine a rather different way. Amazing and one of my new favorite exercises.

Justine (my work out partner) trying out the Leg Ext machine a rather different way. Amazing and one of my new favorite exercises.

Just now, after posting this picture, I receive a text from Justine. I feel like we are both on the same path traveling together on this road to ripped, we have played out in our minds. She is a great girl and has the drive of any one else there willing to put blood sweat and tears in this sport. What gets us all, and has everything to do with the title of this post, is that our minds seem to work against us in some situations. Comparing oneself to anyone else is one of them, and something Justine and I both struggle with. The idea that we will just keep traveling the same path with no added benefits sure sounds like hell to me.. but that’s because we haven’t had that positive mind set. Anyone can tell us anything, but until we believe it, its in one ear out the other. This low self-esteem results in constantly pick ourselves apart..

We need to have faith that what we are doing will ONE DAY pay off.. so why not take it ONE DAY at a time and enjoy the ride, instead of wanting to get off and not ride it at all… I for one, love roller coasters.. and although the ups right now aren’t exactly what I would like, I need to finish one ride before I can try another one out. So, I am sticking to this game plan. Justine. We got this. Lets go another 4 weeks top-notch, system in full gear, and after those 4 weeks well reevaluate the plan again? Okay? I promise.. time will tell and trust me, this sport you NEED patience. We all need patience.

Every single one of us.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

