Looking fit means shit. 

With everything going on, years ago I’d punish myself by feeding the pain. Today, I am still holding strong. I no longer look to food as comfort, but as fuel. I realize that with everything going on in the outside world, if I lost myself I’d have nothing. 

I am consistent with my workouts and try to progress every day. My “diet” (you should all know by now I use that word very loosely), is not where it should be, but due to circumstances I’m making the best out of it. 

All said and done, I am in the best shape I have ever been. What does that even mean? I should rephrase that.. I LOOK like I am in the best shape of my life. 

  
Here’s the thing… 

..I can bang out 225# deadlifts, 50# DB shoulder press’.. But when it comes to skill work, and actually USING my muscles, I found I am actually quite weak. 

Shoulder taps, ring dips.. being as sore as I was, I just couldn’t hang (no pun intended 😜). ..and as competitive as I am, it sucked at first.. But I walked away excited for a new challenge. I never get bored with trying to PR on a lift (especially bench and deadlifts), but I’ve never been so intrigued with trying to be versatile in this industry. I don’t want to just look strong, I want to be strong.   
  

Tagged , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Looking fit means shit. 

  1. jlgentry says:

    This post made me smile. The strength challenge seems to me like a manifestation of you finding what you are really about – and liking what you are finding. More power to you.

    jlg

    • Marissa says:

      Always appreciate your comments and look forward to reading them. You’ve been a huge supporter and I couldn’t thank you enough!

      • jlgentry says:

        Marissa, it works both ways. I had surgery last year and recovery meant dealing with the pain and pushing myself. Friends like you helped keep my mind on the end goal and reminded me that the work is worth it. I’m doing great now and have a whole new appreciation for what the body can take and what the mind can embrace.

      • Marissa says:

        Crazy how trials do in fact bring triumph. I am so glad you are doing well.

  2. Shauna says:

    Marissa, totally not related to anything, but I’ve followed you for a while and noticed you studies for NASM personal training – I am doing the same (actually just bought the self-study today). Any tips? Sorry for the total randomness. But I bought the program and I thought “I think Marissa get certified through NASM”.

    • Marissa says:

      Hey Chica! Yes I went through NASM and I’ll tell you right now it was the hardest test I ever took. The first 3 questions I put my head down and thought I was fucked. These questions weren’t anything that I studied for. I did end up passing but I believe it’s because I had already been training and using the information I was studying for.
      I’ll take a look at home to see if I wrote down anything useful. Know the parts of the body and basic movements. Nasm has designed a program in regards to strength and endurance, know that for sure. At the end of the test it was process of elimination meets common sense.. I’ll do some digging but im sure you’re going to do great!

    • Marissa says:

      Did my comment get posted???!!! 🙏

      • Shauna says:

        Yes I just got your comment! I’m shitting a ton of bricks. I’ve been in fitness since I was 17, but the book side of things will hurt me. I feel like a kid in middle school trying to learn calculus. lol

      • Marissa says:

        Yea….. It’s a lot of work.. Focus on program design and special population… Proper technique and what you would and wouldn’t do with like older clients and clients with high blood pressure ect and how to progress from an exercise.. Like you have a standing db bicep curl.. The progression would be like alternating db curls to standing on one foot type shit…

      • Marissa says:

        Dude wtf am I just now seeing this???? How are you doing so far?????

      • Shauna says:

        I totally missed this too, looks like I’m not getting comment notifications. Good, I guess. I just finished chapter 3 – I feel like I have a learning disability sometimes because all the info is SO NEW that I have to reread, study, rewatch videos, then do the process again about 3 times before it starts to “stick”. I’ve been making sure I read my notes kind of like a book, the parts all fit, I just have to know how. I’m testing myself again on chapter 3 to make sure the info is sticking somewhere in my chaotic brain, then it’s on to chapter 4!

        I have my test in January so I’m still…mildly..freaking out. Lol

Leave a Reply

